Boakai Heads Delegation To Korea-Africa Business Summit

0 11

President Joseph Nyuma Boakai, Sr., left for South Korea  Saturday, June 1, 2024, as Head of the Official Liberian delegation to the Korea-Africa Summit scheduled to take place in Seoul, Korea.

The Summit, which is being held for the first time, brings together Heads of States from Africa, Business Leaders, International Partners from the Global South, and a host of many others.  The event will provide a vital platform for Liberia to showcase its investment potential and to explore opportunities for support to key sectors including agriculture, roads, energy, tourism, and technology. President Boakai is expected to speak at the Opening Session and at the “Strengthening Food and Mineral Security” Forum of the Korea-Africa Business Summit. His Excellency will also hold bilateral talks with H.E. Yook Suk Yeol, President of South Korea and other leaders and entrepreneurs on the margins of the summit.  The delegation accompanying the President includes senior government officials who are expected to participate in various discussions and events. This will help attract tangible investments and partnerships that will contribute significantly to Liberia’s economic development. Liberia’s participation in the Korea- Africa Business Summit will strengthen its bilateral relations with South Korea and more so, the Asian region. The President’s participation underscores Liberia’s commitment to engaging with global partners to drive economic progress and improve the livelihoods of the Liberian people.

The Official Delegation accompanying the President to the Korea-Africa Summit include:

  1. Senator Abraham Dillion, Montserrado County
  2. Representative TaaWongbe, District #9, Nimba County
  3. Honorable Sara BeysolowNyanti, Minister of Foreign Affairs
  4. Brigadier General (Rtd.) Geraldine George, Minister of Defense
  5. Honorable Alexander Nuetah, Minister of Agriculture
  6. Ambassador Blamo Nelson, Liberian Ambassador to Japan & Korea
  7. Honorable JerolinmekPiah, Minister of Information, Cultural Affairs and Tourism
  8. Honorable Sam Stevquoah, Minister of State Without Portfolio/Special Service
  9. Honorable DehpueZuo, Deputy Minister for Economic Management, Ministry of Finance Development Planning
  10. Honorable Jeff Blibo, National Investment Commission Chairman
  11. Honorable Morley Kamara, Senior Economic Advisor to the President

The President will also travel along with his support staff and assistants on communications and media, security, and others. The delegation is expected to return to the country on June 8, 2024.

While the President is out of the country, the Minister of State for Presidential Affairs and Chief of Staff, Honorable Sylvester M. Grigsby will chair the Cabinet in consultation with the Vice President and in close consultation with the President.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.